Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: rule interpretation request
Brett Holmquist <email@example.com> writes:
> I was ridiculed by the other players last night regarding this
> particular play. After checking the 97-98 rulebook, I still think I'm
> right. (It was indoor 6 on 6).
> Here is my attempt to describe it:
> I serve the ball into the other court just fine, but a player bumps it
> poorly and it goes far out to the left of the court, and it ALSO comes
> back over the theoretical plane of the net (if the net extended to the
> left and right infinitely). It wasn't inside my team's court of course,
> because it was so far out to the left. A player from the other team ran
> over and hit it back into their court (while jumping). They then
> proceeded to bump the ball just fine into our court. I caught the ball
> because I thought it was out of play once the ball crossed the plane of
> the net outside the antennas.
You made the right call under current USA Volleyball indoor rules.
Once the ball completely crosses the plane of the net outside the
crossing space, it's dead.
Once the ball is dead, is doesn't matter who contacts it or how.
Note that the USAV Beach rules differ on this point. Stop by my rules
page if you're interested in the details.
Todd H. firstname.lastname@example.org
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |