Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: New FAQ: In or Out? Ball Compression and the Sideline
firstname.lastname@example.org (Bruno Wolff III) writes:
> How about adding in something about how much compression to assume
> when you have to make a call but couldn't see the bottom of the ball
> so as to tell whether the ball actually touched the line? Should
> someone make a guess of 2 inches? Should the speed of the ball
> matter in making this guess? Should a replay just be called in this
The LJ's should make no assumptions about compression. They should
call what they see. The line judge either _sees_ the ball touch the
line, or he does not.
While the speed of the ball will determine the amount of compression
is seen during the super-slow-motion instant replay, it will not
change what the line judge sees with his human eyes--either he saw the
white ball touch the line or he did not see it touch the line. A
replay is never appropriate, and the ball was either seen in or out.
Such judgement calls are non-protestable.
Good line judges will sell this judgement call with a sharp, confident
Todd H. email@example.com
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |