Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Two-handed overhand - illegal?
- To: Pat Traynor <email@example.com>
- Subject: Re: Two-handed overhand - illegal?
- From: Todd <firstname.lastname@example.org>
- Date: 04 Sep 1997 10:01:43 -0500
- In-Reply-To: Pat Traynor's message of 4 Sep 1997 14:14:22 GMT
- Newsgroups: rec.sport.volleyball
- Organization: Not likely
- References: <email@example.com>
- Sender: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Xref: enteract.com sent-to-rsv:34
Pat Traynor <email@example.com> writes:
> Rule question here...
> We play recreational outdoor games (C- level). There is a
> particular shot that we're pretty convinced is illegal, but we'd like to
> know for sure.
> The situation occurs when it's the third shot, but we weren't able to
> get it to a front row hitter. Often, the shot is just "set" deep over
> the net to a vacant far corner. The shot looks similar to the
> old-fashioned basketball "push shot" that was popular in the '50s. As
> far as I know, this is a legal shot.
If you are playing 4's or 6's, it's legal as long as the ball is not
caught, carried, thrown, or double contacted.
1997-98 USA Volleyball indoor rules
14.4 Characteristics of the hit
14.4.1 The ball may touch any part of the body.
14.4.2 The ball must be hit, not caught or thrown. It can rebound in
14.4.3 The ball may touch various parts of the body, provided that the
contacts take place simultaneously. EXCEPTIONS:
188.8.131.52 During blocking, consecutive contacts may occur by
one or more blockers provided the contacts occur during one
184.108.40.206 During the first hit of the team (not blocking), the
ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively,
provided that the contacts occur during one action.
220.127.116.11 Commentary The first hit of the team includes
reception: (a) of the serve; (b) of an attack hit
by the opponent [this may be a soft or hard
attack-hit]; (c) of a ball blocked by one's own
team and (d) of a ball blocked by the opponents.
During the team's first hit successive contacts
with various parts of the player's body are permitted
in a single action of playing the ball. These
include contacts involving "finger-action" on the ball
and contact with the foot. The ball, however,
may not be caught and/or thrown.
If you're playing outdoor 2's or 3's, there is an additional
restriction--any "sets" over the net must travel directly forward or
directly backward in relation to the player's body.
> But some of the lesser players will occasionally hit the ball with two
> hands overhand. Sort of a two-handed spike from the back row. It looks
> ugly as hell and I have to assume that it's just flat out illegal.
This sounds rather illegal. It's very difficult to do a 2-handed
spike without double contacting or throwing the ball.
Todd H. firstname.lastname@example.org
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |