Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Two-handed overhand - illegal?
"Miguel A. Valle" <justdoit@Glue.umd.edu> writes:
> On 4 Sep 1997, Todd wrote:
> > If you're playing outdoor 2's or 3's, there is an additional
> > restriction--any "sets" over the net must travel directly forward or
> > directly backward in relation to the player's body.
> I might be wrong but I thought that if it is the third contact, you can
> set it over in whatever direction you like as long as you don't carry it
> or double it.
You are correct for indoor competition and outdoor 4's and 6's;
however, outdoor 2's and 3's are unique:
USAV Outdoor Rule 13.4.5 (1996-97 sorry, the new one's at home)
13.4.5 For Doubles and Triples Competition only: If the ball is
intentionally set into the opponent's court, the player must contact
the ball with two hands above his/her shoulders and set it directly
forward or directly backward with relation to his/her body.
For 1997-98, the wording regarding intent was removed and replaced
with verbiage covering wind conditions. The rule remains largely
unchanged in spirit, however--an intentional set over on the third
contact must travel directly forward or directly backward in relation
to the player's body.
Todd H. email@example.com
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |