Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: net cable... in or out?

Bill <> writes:
> I've always played the cable going from the net to the post was in play,
> even though it is usually angled up to the post so a ball headed out
> could bounce off it and back in.  Also, the little dowel that is in the
> net (not the big posts) can deflect a ball back in.
> Do some places call these out?  I've seen nothing in the rulebook except
> that the big posts are used as antenna in outdoors (unless there are
> antennae).
> Thanks,
> Bill

USA Volleyball indoor rule 12.4.3 states:

  12.4 The ball is "out" when:
  12.4.3  it contacts an antenna, rope, post or the net itself outside an
  antenna/side band

The USAV outdoor rule [] is the same.

Best Regards,
                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index