Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Two-handed overhand - illegal?

Mark Kolber <> writes:

> Scot Hastings wrote:
> > 
> > Your assumption is right.  The third hit must meet the same restrictions as
> > the first and second (i.e. it must not be a double hit or a lift).
> > Therefore, if the two-handed spike on the third contact could not possibly
> > be considered a legal set, if it was on the second contact (which I have to
> > assume it couldn't be), then it is illegal.
> Is a two handed hit with the hands placed hand over hand so the hands 
> are always together and hit the ball as one, legal? 
> Mark K

Likely (provided the ball is not caught, held, or thrown), but not
necessarily.  Referees are trained to judge the contact rather than
the form.  To say categorically that all such contacts are legal would
be misleading at best.

Does the contact adhere to rule 14.4?  If so, it's legal:

  USA Volleyball Indoor Rule (1997-98):
  14.4 Characteristics of the hit
  14.4.1  The ball may touch any part of the body.
  14.4.2 The ball must be hit, not caught or thrown.  It can rebound in
  any direction.
  14.4.3 The ball may touch various parts of the body, provided that the
  contacts take place simultaneously.  EXCEPTIONS:
 During blocking, consecutive contacts may occur by
          one or more blockers provided the contacts occur during one 
 During the first hit of the team (not blocking), the
          ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively,
          provided that the contacts occur during one action.
         Commentary The first hit of the team includes
                  reception: (a) of the serve; (b) of an attack hit
                  by the opponent [this may be a soft or hard
                  attack-hit]; (c) of a ball blocked by one's own 
                  team and (d) of a ball blocked by the opponents.
                  During the team's first hit successive contacts
                  with various parts of the player's body are permitted
                  in a single action of playing the ball.  These
                  include contacts involving "finger-action" on the ball 
                  and contact with the foot.  The ball, however, 
                  may not be caught and/or thrown.

Best Regards,
                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index