Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Net Touch FAQ (was: Is this bad sportmanship, or good volleyball?)

Hi Rick,

This is a FAQ that hasn't yet made its way into the official FAQ for
the group (Tom...oh Tom?).  The complete story on this situation (for
all major rule sets) can be found at

Best Regards,
                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...." (Rick Strobel) writes:

> Is this bad sportmanship, or good volleyball?
> Last night an opponent placed his hand a 1/4  of an inch from the net and 
> waited for our pass to push the ball and the net into his hand, which made it 
> impossible for me as the setter to pay the ball -- the opponent scored a side 
> out.  He did that to me twice.
> I had to explain to the ref that it was a legal play.
> Tonight it was my turn for revenge.  I saw a ball coming toward the net and I 
> placed my hand in the appropriate position.  It worked, and I felt it was a 
> cleverly executed play.  When our opponent questioned the no-call, the ref 
> (not the same, different court, league, etc.) said yes it was legal, but was 
> considered bad sportsmanship!
> This kind of ticked me off.  I'd like to hear opinions.  Is this like farting 
> in church or not?
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> Rick Strobel                         |                               |
> InfoTime Fax Communications          |      Fax-on-Demand            |
> 502-426-4279                         |           &                   | 
> 502-426-3721 fax                     |      Fax Broadcast            |
>                |        Services               |
>              |                               | 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index