Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Contact under net . . .
- Subject: Re: Contact under net . . .
- From: Todd <email@example.com>
- Date: 17 Sep 1997 12:50:57 -0500
- Newsgroups: rec.sport.volleyball
- Organization: Not likely
- References: <firstname.lastname@example.org>
- Sender: email@example.com
- Xref: enteract.com sent-to-rsv:56
firstname.lastname@example.org (Paul Thayer) writes:
> Setter sets tight in the middle. Middle blocker goes to attack the
> ball while the other team's blocker attempts to block it. A joust
> of sorts results with the ball landing over the net for an apparent
> kill. However, in the course of the attack the hitter lands on the
> center line but not over (i.e. there is no violation for crossing
> under the net); the hitter bumps the legs of the blocker (roughly at
> the same time the attack/block occurred, if that matters) while
> landing on the center line.
> Is the contact under the net (when no center line violation has
> occurred) anything more than that? Is it interference on the
> attacker since the blocker wasn't even on the center line (he was
> entirely on his side of the court)? Couldn't you just as easily
> call interference on the blocker?
This case is a "play on," provided the attacker's contact with the
blocker did not prevent the blocker from making a further defensive
play on the jousted ball. The blocker cannot be called for
interference while completely in his own playing space.
And...I can't disappoint Earl.......
USAV 1997-98 indoor rule:
16.3 Penetration Under the Net
16.3.1 A player may reach or penetrate into the opponent's court
and/or space under the net, provided this does not interfere with the
16.3.2 Penetration into the opponent's court, beyond the center line
22.214.171.124 touch the oppoent's court with (a) hand(s), foot or feet is
permitted, provided some part of the penetrating hands(s)/food/feet
remains either in contact with or directly above the center line;
126.96.36.199 contact the oppoent's court with any other part of the body
(except hair) is a faul.
16.3 A player may enter the opponent's court only after the ball is
out of play [Rule 12.2]. A player may enter into the opponent's free
zone provided this does not interfere with the opponent's play.
Todd H. email@example.com
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |