Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Feet question & serve question (Richard Fox) writes:
> Sorry if this is an old issue. If so please just send private email.
> What is the current rule on using ones feet? Is it any hit or just a
> hard driven spike? Is there a difference betwen indoor and outdoor?

It depends on the rules set you are using.  This is legal in all USAV
indoor and outdoor competition except outdoor 6's (where the ball must
be contacted on or above the knee).

> Also, regarding the serve, can you attack or block a server? For the
> 6-man game this has impact for those who server short.

Under USAV rules, you cannot block the serve.  You can only attack a
serve provided some part of the ball is below the top of the net at
the moment of contact.

                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index