Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Rule question on attacking the serve
- To: email@example.com
- Subject: Re: Rule question on attacking the serve
- From: Todd <firstname.lastname@example.org>
- Date: 24 Nov 1997 10:35:29 -0600
- In-Reply-To: Paul Bradford's message of Mon, 24 Nov 1997 10:14:18 -0500
- References: <347999CA.11E@ultranet.com>
- Sender: email@example.com
- Xref: enteract.com sent-to-rsv:8
Paul Bradford <firstname.lastname@example.org> writes:
> What I'm asking is this: does a receiving team have to allow
> some part of the served ball to fall below the top of the net?
No, unless the ball is attacked directly off the serve (a single team
> USAV rules. The rule says you can't attack the serve until
> some part of the ball drops below the top of the net.
> What I'm wonder about is indirect attacks where multiple players
> on the receiving team touch the ball, but the ball always
> remains above the plane of the net. It seems like this probably
> happens with tall players taking the ball over their heads
> with their hands.
> Example 1: a ball is served, player takes ball with hands (ball
> is above the net), setter jump sets (still above the net),
> hitter attacks. The ball never got below the plane of the net.
> Or an even simpler case: on the first contact, the receiving
> teams' setter jump sets the serve directly to a hitter.
> Is this legal?
Yes. The serve is received legally by the setter. Since the setter
did not attack the ball, there is no violation of the rule you cite
[R18.4.4]. The attacker's legal hit is the team's second contact. As
such, R18.4.4 does not apply.
> Example 2: If Example 1 is legal, Here is a tougher case:
> player goes up to attack serve, but one of his teammates touches
> the ball before it goes over to the other side. The effect is
> the same as directly attacking the serve, but there were multiple
> contacts, so it is like the first example.
I'm not sure I understand your scenario enough to answer, but I
strongly suspect that it's legal too. R18.4.4 applies only to the
first contact of the receiving team.
Todd H. email@example.com
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |