Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: what is a back-row attack?
- Subject: Re: what is a back-row attack?
- From: Todd <email@example.com>
- Date: 26 Nov 1997 08:37:11 -0600
- Newsgroups: rec.sport.volleyball
- Organization: Not likely
- References: <65ct0e$i11$1@News.Dal.Ca> <347BB80D.639B3FCD@earthlink.net>
- Sender: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Xref: enteract.com sent-to-rsv:9
George Yeh <email@example.com> writes:
> I assume we're talking about USAV rules. This brings up a good
> question. We were told to interpret it the way you mentioned it, but
> in the rulebook itself, it clearly states that once the ball is
> completely above the net and the back-row attacker is in front of the
> 10' line, then a violation has occured. It didn't state that it has to
> the plane of the net in order for it to be illegal. Now, who is right on
USAV indoor 18.1.2 answers your question. Stephen is correct:
An attack-hit is completed the moment the ball completely
crosses the vertical plane of the net or is touched by a
Under attack hit faults [18.4], it states that the fault occurs only
once the back row attack is _completed_.
> Stephen K. Brown wrote:
> > Don't forget-a back row attack is not a fault UNTIL it either crosses
> > the
> > plane of the net OR is blocked
> > Steve
> > VC Ref
Todd H. firstname.lastname@example.org
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |