Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Attacks with Set

"Chris H. Keith" <> writes:
> Is it considered a back row attack if a back row setter intentionally sets
> the ball over the net on the set?
> -chk

Indoors under USAV, FIVB, and NAGWS rules, yes it's a back row attack
(BRA) if a) the ball is completely above the height of the net upon
contact, and b) the setter is in the front zone.  OTOH, if any part of
the ball is below the height of the net, such a set would be legal.

Intent is irrelevant.  You will not find any mention of intent in the
USAV rules.  This is a Good Thing as it's very difficult for a referee
to judge intent.  :-)

As Wally recently pointed out in a related thread, there's a special
case when a back row setter is jump setting a ball in the plane of the
net.  If the defense blocks such a jump set ball, the back row
setter's set is not considered a BRA provided the set was directed
toward a teammate.  If such a set, however, passes completely beyond
the plane of the net untouched, it is a BRA.  See USAV commentary 18.1
for more info.

Best Regards,

                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index