Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

setting over (was: service reception..(beach/outdoor/local rules))

"Travis Lyne" <> writes:
> Interesting stuff.
> Almost the same thing happened to me regarding a different rule.
> Our local club announced that in beach 2's, sets that accidentally
> go over the net were now OK, according to a recent FIVB rule change!
> Is this true, and if so, what is the logic behind it? I can't see
> any.

The "no set-over's" rule is another homer rule institututed by leagues
and spread by folklore.  I ran into this one while playing pick up
ball in Dayton, OH.  Your local league, however, is actually correct
on this one.

USAV Beach rules (which are far more commonly used in the USA), as
Brandon has quoted, also state that in 2's and 3's competition, sets
into the opponent's court are okay provided they travel directly
forward or directly backward in relation to the shoulders.

So for example, if you set a ball from mid court, using good form by
squaring your shoulders to the direction you're setting, if you
overshoot your partner and send the ball over the net, it's quite
legal.  If however, your shoulders are not square to the flight of the
ball, your partner must contact it before the ball completely passes
beyond the plane of the net.  

FIVB is essentially the same on this.  FIVB Beach rules relate only to
doubles play.  Rule 17.2.5 states that attack hit faults include:

        17.2.5 A player completes an attack-hit using an overhand pass
               which has a trajectory not perpendicular to the line of
               the shoul-ders, except when setting his or her

For the whole story, see

Best Regards,
                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index