Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Outdoor rule question

[original followup cancelled...I misread the situation and gave some
invalid explanation]

"Nick Barbadoro" <> writes:
> In doubles, if the ball comes from side A and completely passes over
> the net to side B, can side A still make a play for the ball,
> assuming of course there is still a hit left? If so, what if a
> player on side B is waiting, in a crouched position below the net to
> set the ball, is it still legal? I hope I've described the situation
> clearly.

Player A can only make a play on the ball only if the ball crossed
into team B's court under the net or outside the poles.  See r 14.1.

In the case where the ball crossed under the net, if player B was
intentionally interfering with player A's attempt to play the ball on
B court, player B would be at fault per below.

Here are the applicable rules to this situation.  

1998 USAV Beach rules

14.1   Ball crossing the net
14.1.2 A ball completely crossing the net below the net or entirely
       outside the antennas (posts) may be recovered within the limits
       of the three team contacts [Rule 15.1.3 and 15.1.4].
14.1.3 A ball completely crossing the net above the net and within or
       over the antennas (posts) may not be recovered.

15.1   Reaching beyond the net
15.1.3 Within the limits of the three team contacts, a player may
       contact a ball that has crossed the net below the net in order
       to direct the ball to a teammate, as long as the ball has not
       been contacted by the opponents.  The recovered ball must cross
       the net below the net.

15.2   Penetration into the opponent's playing area and space
15.2.1 Players may cross the center line below the net or outside the
       poles, either before, during or after a legal play of the ball,
       provided this does not interfere with the opponent's play.
       Incidental contact with an opponent is ignored, unless usch
       contact interferes with the opponent's opportunity to play the
       ball. If the player crosses the center line and interferes with an
         opponent during play [Rule 12.2.2], it is a fault. While opposing players are not required to avoid the ball or
         the player, they cannot intentionally interfere with any
         legal attempt to play the ball on their court.

To get your copy which includes both indoor and beach/outdoor
rulesets, call Volleyball Informational Products at
1-800-275-8782. Cost is just $6.95 (as of 6/98) and the proceeds
benefit our Olympic volleyball teams.

                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index