Message sent to r.s.v.

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: overhand the serve? (Beach vbl) writes:

> Maybe if the grill is going and the burgers are ready to flip. I
> have never heard of overhand passing a serve, I know it is illegal
> in the AVP, even the FIVB doesn't allow an open hand return of the
> serve(or maybe they do know, who knows?). 

Not true.  The AVP rulebook has no specific prohibition on overhand
passing ("setting") the first ball.  FIVB Beach rules do not have such
a rote prohibition either.

AVP Rules 
18.6 Ball contact 
D. A "hard driven" ball from an attack or from a blocked ball
   rebounding back into the attacker's court may be contacted multiple
   times in succession by a player if these contacts occur during one
   attempt to play the ball.  This counts as one team contact.  A
   "hard driven ball may never be carried or allowed to come to rest."


USAV Beach 1997-98
13.4 Characteristics of the Contact
13.4.1 A player may touch the ball with any part of the body.
13.4.2 A player may have successive contact with the ball during a
       single attempt to make the team's first contact provided the
       fingers are not used to direct the ball.
13.4.3 The ball must be contacted cleanly and not held, lifted,
       pushed, caught, carried or thrown.  The ball cannot roll or
       come to rest on any part of the player's body.  It can rebound
       in any direction. An exception shall be allowed during the defensive play of a
         hard-driven ball (an attack-hit or blocked ball traveling at
         a high rate of speed), as judged by the referee.  In that
         case, the ball may be momentarily lifted or pushed, provided
         the attempt is one continuous motion.
13.4.4 A contact of the ball using the fingers of one or two hand to
       direct hte ball toward a teammate is a set.  A player may set
       the ball in any direction toward his/her team's court. Rotation of a set ball may indicate a held ball or multiple
         contacts during the set but in itself is not a faul.
13.4.5 For doubles and triples competition only:  If the ball is
       intentionally set into the opponent's court, the player must
       contact the ball with two hands above his/her shoulders and set
       it directly forward or directly backward with relation to
       his/her body.
13.4.5 Commentary:  A legal set directed toward a teammate that
       crosses the net because of elements is not a fault, regardless
       of the player's body position.
13.4.6 For Doubles, Triples and Four-Player Competition only:  When
       contacting the ball with one hand, other than for setting the
       ball toward a teammate, the ball must be cleanly hit with the
       heel or palm of the hand (a roll shot), with straight, locked
       fingertips (a cobra), knurled fingers (a camel toe) or with the
       back of the hand from the wrist to the knuckles. One handed
       placement or redirectio of the ball with the fingers (a dink or
       open-hand tip) is a fault.

                  Todd H.
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."

Search this archive! | Back to Todd's Ref Page | Main Index | Thread Index