Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: receiving a serve
Kevin Lentin <email@example.com> writes:
> Todd <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote:
> > Under USAV _indoor_ rules, you can also receive a first team contact
> > with a set. Furthermore, it would even be legal to double contact
> > such a set (i.e. comes out spinning horribly).
> *Shiver* Why the one-to-one link between spin and doubles? Or do USAV rules
> actually use spin as a determinent?
LOL. As soon as I try to dumb down the discussion (from my original
post on the thread) for the masses, and sure enough I catch the
attention of a national referee. :-)
Not to fear Kevin, there is no such link between spin and multiple
contacts in the USAV beach (or indoor) rules. I tried to stop short
of making that direct two-way implication, but I must have come close
enough to make you shudder. They say explicitly:
USAV Beach 1998-99
13.4.4 A contact of the ball using the fingers of one or two hand to
direct the ball toward a teammate is a set. A player may set
the ball in any direction toward his/her team's court.
22.214.171.124 Rotation of a set ball may indicate a held ball or multiple
contacts during the set but in itself is not a fault.
Todd H. email@example.com
USAV Jr. National Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |