Message sent to r.s.v.
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: Doubles Rule Question ?? (block beyond plane of net)
- Subject: Re: Doubles Rule Question ?? (block beyond plane of net)
- From: Todd <firstname.lastname@example.org>
- Date: 11 Aug 1998 13:12:02 -0500
- Newsgroups: rec.sport.volleyball
- Organization: Not likely
- References: <v8CB9z3USGlR@malvm1.mala.bc.ca>
- Sender: email@example.com
- Xref: nathan.enteract.com sent-to-rsv:142
> In playing a tournmaent game of beach doubles the following occured,
> Side A player had set his partner for the third contact and the ball
> was set a little tight.As side A player went to hit the ball,
> obviuosly Side B player was there to block it.The set was tight and
> Side B player who was in the air played the ball back into the court
> of Side A before Side A player touched the ball. What is the call ?
> Thanks for any reply.
This ties in well with Joe Arkin's recent commentary here on
indoor/beach differences in this particular rule.
The key here is: where is the ball when the B blocker contacted it?
Was team A's attack completed? Did the block interfere with team A's
FIVB Beach rules (and if you're in Canada, I believe these are the
rules that apply to you) state:
15.1.1 In blocking, a blocker may touch the ball beyond the net,
provided that he/she does not interfere with the opponent's
play, before or during the latter's attack-hit (Rule
18.3 BLOCK WITHIN THE OPPONENT'S SPACE
In blocking, the player may place his/her hands and arms beyond
the net provided that his/her action does not interfere with the
opponent's play. Thus, it is not permitted to touch the ball
beyond the net until the opponent has executed an attack-hit.
17. Attack hit
17.1.1 All actions to direct the ball towards the opponent, except
when serving and blocking, are considered to be attack-hits.
17.1.2 An attack-hit is completed the moment the ball completely
crosses the vertical plane of the net or is touched by the
USA Volleyball beach blocking rules are quite similar.
1997-98 USAV Beach Rules
15.1 Reaching Beyond the net
15.1.1 While blocking, a player may touch the ball beyond the net,
provided the player does not interfere with the opponent's
play before or during the attack-hit [Rule 18.3.1]
[key words here are "before or during"]
18.3 Block within the opponent's space
In blocking, the player may place his/her hands and arms beyond the
net provided that action does not interfere with the opponent's play.
The player is not permitted to touch the ball beyond the net until the
opponent has made an attack-hit.
17.1.1 All actions directing the ball toward the opponent's playing
area, except the acts of serving and blocking are attack-hits.
17.1.2 An attack hit is completed the moment the ball completely
crosses the vertical plane of the net or is touched by a
Todd H. firstname.lastname@example.org
USAV Regional Referee, Great Lakes Region, Palatine, IL
Todd's Volleyball Referee Page http://www.io.com/~tdh/vball/
"So you're a Ref and an engineer? Oh that explains it...."
Search this archive! |
Back to Todd's Ref Page |
Main Index |